Why are there no small MIDI controllers with 8 encoders and nothing else?

Most DAWs seem to have standardized on 8-knobs control macros in a 4x2 layout, which is in itself a reasonable thing.

So why are there no small USB MIDI controller boxes with 8 encoders in a 4x2 layout on the market? Why does something that seems like a no-brain product simply not exist?

Would the price point be wrong? Do people really rather have this on a keyboard or pad controller? Why is the closest thing a big rubberized €280 DJ product with 16 encoders and LED rings that aren’t needed when you’re looking at the screen anyway (not bashing this product; it’s great for what it is)?

the Faderfox UC-4 would be the closest I think. You get 4x2 encoders, plus the 8 faders (which are never wrong imho), it even has a built-in Ableton mode.

http://faderfox.de/uc4.html

Yup, that’s still too big IMHO. :slight_smile:

Suggestions are interesting, but please take the question literally as well. As a designer, I am honestly wondering why this thing does not exist. What do you think?

A few years back, I had the Native Instruments ‘4Control’.

It was sturdy not plastic, had 4 continuous control knobs and two switches (that could be assigned to latch)

Great for live stuff, and with the travellizer.ens, was literally a mac based ‘Clouds’.

You can also look for the cheapy, evolution ‘u-control’, 16 knobs, usb, lcd screen, etc (bigger tho)

I feel akai or someone did a smaller thing.

Kenton Electronics did and it was metal enclosure.also LIVID code v2.

Novation Nocturn yes also. Had it too and def small. (the little one)

Well a launchkontrol gives you 2x of em: http://global.novationmusic.com/launch/launch-control#

If you were subtweeting the nocturn, you can find them under $100 if you dig for it https://global.novationmusic.com/midi-controllers/nocturn?reload=3#