When do the new modules become open source?

Hey Emilie.
So I am not really a musician, but I love tinkering with audio and audio circuits. And I love building a small eurorack case with some modules…

I am a student and have little money so I can’t afford any modules at the moment. But either way I prefer to build them on my own just for the fun part of making something.

So are there any plans on making „Beads“ and „Blades“ open source?
I would be very interested in building a beads, since my small eurorack case doesn’t have any effects yet and there are not many good diy or open source effect units out there. Yeah I could build a clouds but seeing those videos about beads makes it really hard for me to spend money on this „old“ Module

So thanks for your work Emilie and i wish you good luck with everything, but I’m hoping for a open source beads ^^

Gruft

1 Like

I can see you are well intentioned but surely the polite thing would be to wait.

It feels like asking '“can I have all your money when you’re dead?”

1 Like

I intent to publish the files around summer 2022.

4 Likes

Not my Intension since when I could I would support emellie right now. But with my current financial situation and the fact that I am not a musician how can justify spending thousands of euros in musical equipment I have to go the diy route

So thank you for the answer this is a time I can wait no problemo :slight_smile:

Gruft

Being a passionate synth DIYer myself, here’s a pill that’s hard to swallow: Don’t fool yourself thinking DIY will be significantly cheaper than a prebuilt module. Unless you’re willing to sacrifice build quality to the point where it destroys all the joy of using the gear, you’ll always end up at between 60-80% of the cost of a factory module (based in my experience). And that doesn’t include spare parts, tools and failed attempts. If you include those, you’ll likely spend more than the factory price.