What do i need to update my OS via USBtiny?

… or where can i read about it?

i’ve built a usbtiny programmer.

wow, i don’t even know what hardware configuration i have to assemble so i can plug in the chip to actually program it. but i guess it’s not that much, so i can DIM?
maybe someone could give me a hint where i can read how to do it?

nope, if someone should apologize then me… i’m completely new to avr and programming, and asking probably silly questions… like this:
when i have made the connections and plugged the chip in my protoboard “programmer” can i just send the “shruti1_0.57.hex” file with avrdude or avrstudio right away or will i have to compile something and/or upload bootloader first?

Hi,

The shruti-1 doesn’t have an ISP connector, so you have to “transplant” the chip out of the socket into a minimal hardware environment to program it. You’ll need a 16MHz crystal with its caps, maybe a bypass cap, and that’s pretty much it. You can power it from the +5V/GND rails from the Shruti. For example: http://art364.pbworks.com/Standalone+Arduino . Then you have to make your own connection from the CLK/MISO/MOSI pins of the programmer to the chip.

cool, thanks! i’ll try this!

I just use protoboard for programing my avrs and just fly some wires from the usbtiny header to the appropriate ISP pins. A bypass cap is a must also…

from ATmega328P datasheet:

from USBtiny

and the Standalone Arduino

i’m a bit confused which pins i actually have to connect to the programmer…
from the standalone arduino pic i had the impression i’d have to connect pins 2+3 (somehow) and 5V & GND…
now i wonder if it’s maybe PINS 14 (or rather 19 (SCK)),17 & 18 + the power supply…

btw can i also take the power from the USBtiny thing instead of messing with a 5V supply (although i have a good one) ?

or should i better wait a few days until i receive my programmer i’ve ordered and just stop confusing myself??