Voltages to high on SMR-4 power supply or: synth DIY guide for noobs

Hi! I finally started to build my Shruthi today, and I just finished assembling the power supply on the SMR-4 board.
I came to the stage where I have to test the board, but voltages turn out to be wrong:
ground is zero everywhere… so far so good
but positive is 6,8 instead of 5 and negative is -6,8 instead of 5
I double (triple) checked all the polarities and if the components where the right ones… so far I can’t find an error…
Now… either my tester is wrong (could be, it’s a bit of a piece of crap) or I have done something wrong during assembly which I don’t know of… the strange thing is that I get pretty strange values also when testing the output of the power supply. shows 12V while I set it to 9…
Any suggestions?
I’ll try to find another tester… just not so easy since it’s sunday… but maybe there is something else I could check.

ok… I’m a noob
the batteries were running out on my tester…
problem solved so far…

hey rumpelfilter, im just as stupid as you :wink:

new batteries in Mr.Voltcraft magically corrects all weird Voltage readings on the Shruthis - must be some kind of morphogenetic field

Honestly: what about compiling a “The ShruthiVersum™ Guide to SynthDIY for Noobs” FAQ with all those hints and tips and tricks?

fcd, yeah why not? it could also say: dude when everythings working, but no sound at all, why not start with inserting …some of the transistors? that was me yesterday, glad & stupid at the same time

My Physics teacher at School: “It works better with electricity.”

My personal all FilterBoard Favourite is: put that damn white stripe on the ELKOs exactly where it is on the pic. Dont think just compare. Twice!

Maybe wo could also start a “Too dumb to build a Shruthi” Yahoo Group or something…

great idea!
Here’s what my highlights of the day were: