The white phoenix - project log for a hybrid synthesizer

Hello!

I started a new project and would like to share my progress here, get in touch with others and discuss. I followed the WAVE-synth thread with great interest and found a lot of nice ideas there, so I thought I’d do the same with my project and hopefully its interesting to read for others.
Here is the first few chapters!

TheSlowGrowth

PS: By the way - please comment also on writing style and whatever you think when you read it. I’d be very happy to get in touch with other synth designers.

=
Chapter 1 – The why and how

Todays market is flooded with synthesizers of all kinds – expensive ones, cheap ones, digital ones, analog ones, hybrid ones. Some of them are ridiculously cheap – it hardly makes sense to design and build your own. Nevertheless I have set myself the challenge to design a mono-hybrid synth. Why?
I’m a student of electrical engineering, and like to design my own stuff as a hobby. I like what I do, because I have full control over what my devices will be like and I can learn so much on the way. I’m also a synth freak who likes complex sounds and ambient music. So the idea of making a synth was there a long, long time but I always felt like its a little to hard for me.
Now that I discovered the Mutable Instruments Shruthi-1 with its open source soft- and hardware I learned a lot and found a base to build my synth of dreams upon. Especially the filter designs had caused me headaches but with the Shruthi I have a bunch of very good sounding filter circuits at hand that I can use as a starting point.
My workshop has continuously grown in the past years – as has my knowledge in electronics, signal processing and programming. I finally have a decent oscilloscope, my studies have brought me the powerfull math of the „frequency-domain“ and I generally feel like the time has come to start this project and see how far I get.