Suggestions for Home Studio Monitors / Near Field

Hello

I am really an amateur home noise maker (at least my wife calls my music like that ).

Now number of noise making gear is increasing with help of MI so I would like the hear their noises better.

I have Creative GigaWorks T20 MK1 speakers which is OK for listen some music but no good for my synths.

Space around my desk is limited so I tend to look for small size ( especially 4"s ) ,small footprint near field monitors and I like quite bassy sounds

• I found KRK VX4 is nice but expensive

• Behringer announced NEKKST series and NEKKST 5 looks interesting

What other small size footprint , sound good and budget monitors would you suggest ?

JBL Control 1 (ok, im biased, as i am used to them for 25 years now…and i have a SubControl 1 as well and it makes for a perfec near field Monitor).

On my Living Room Setup (yes, i have such a thing) i have Behringer Truth B1030 A active monitors. Personally i like the JBL better but they are besides some faint noise when everything else is silent quite neutral - as a Monitor should be - and Value for Money.

I have a set of KRK Roket8’s and I love em. Trying to get small speakers output proper bass is hard. Generally, there are sacrifices when the bass response is increased with small speakers. Your best bet is to get some nice smallish near fields that do not have a lot of bass output but focus more on the mid and high range and get a sub.

I haven’t really heard anything but good about the Yamaha HS-80, or alternatively the HS-50, although they(HS-50) all but require the NS-10 subwoofer if you do stuff where bass is important…

I personally don’t like the look of KRKs Monitors, but they do sound really clear, so that’s a plus ^^

Have you considered a good pair of headphones? Discussing monitors and headphones is a bit like discussing religion and politics but I have a pair of Grado SR325s and Grado SR125s and really like them.