Styroflex capacitors

Is it possible to get part numbers for optional styroflex caps for use in the SSM2044 board?

If I understand correctly, it’s for (C19, C30) and (C11, C21, C22, C36). I know what the values are supposed to be, but I’ve found some variations in other values (like 50v versus 200v) and what to make sure I don’t get the wrong ones.

for example, 220uf
http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Xicon/23PS122/?qs=sGAEpiMZZMsh%2b1woXyUXj2Wk4Z3nZoF9SxDl0XPr0tM%3D

Thanks!

The Voltage doesnt really matter since the board is only driven with ± 5 V. The rest is up to your personal choice and a bit unpredictable in which way it really affects Sound . . .

The parts from Reichelt I have are:

STYROFLEX 560P 30
STYROFLEX 6,8N 30

Wow. Thanks for the quick responses. I’m no electronics expert. I can follow kit designs and such. I was under the impression these were considered ideal instead of the film ones.

I may put in pin socket strip for those so I can swap out different ones without having to desolder. I’ll play around and see the difference in sound.

Good idea Filch, maybe you can post some recordings with one channel Film, the other Styro each playing the same thing simutaneously. This would add some real world arguments to the “Styroflex sounds better” Discussion.

BTW…

note that the leads of those russian caps won’t fit in the female sockets. you’d have to use the long ones that are used as inter-board connectors for the shruthi

It’s a trick I learned from a midibox SID mb-6582 build. They used the female pin sockets stips for the SID chip caps. The MB-6582 had the option of using either 6581 or 6582/8580 SID chip versions which require different caps and voltages, and it made it easy to swap out capacitors if you wanted to change SID chips.