Soooooooo

I just switched to lead-free ROHS solder. It doesn’t smell as good.

make sure you have good ventilation, that stuff is pretty toxic

Speaking of which… Any recommendation for a small fume extractor? If possible, not very noisy since the room in which I solder is adjacent to my neighbours’ bedroom.

I have seen this on Farnell. Do these kinds of things work well?

I have the little weller similar to that and it works fine

I was joking but ROHS is still really toxic? Damn this hobby and it’s analog goodnesses.

I’ve got the same Weller model, and it’s doing the job.

A little bit noisy, but enough flow to keep the fumes away from your face…

SHIT! So we all have to die???

… who of you guys is Smokin?

Think I’ll have to get one too… every time I solder something I start coughing… which is not really nice…

this seems a good place to ask;

I bought some lead free silver solder when i got this kit, but find it really hard to use (im a noob).

Before i break the shruthi, is it better to get some other solder? Which do people recommend?

Many thanks

Ben

Usually for noobs like us they suggest to stay clear of lead free solder and use the 60-40 tin-lead solder (which has 40% of lead inside).

@ben

I use 2 different lead based ones:

Kester 331: This is the organic flux based stuff. I use this for all parts that are not harmed by water (resistors, caps, ICs etc). The beauty of this stuff is that all you need to do to clean the flux off is to rinse it off with water and let dry

Kester 945: This is the no-clean stuff and I use it for everything else (pots, switches, etc) that should never get wet.

All the other ones are rosin flux based which needs to be removed with all sorts of chemicals and although it is superior for soldering, it is a pain in the ass to clean