(SOLVED) HELP! pops, clicks and fainted distorted audio

Hiya from Montreal, first post here. Glad meeting you all
First off, this synth and this board is amazing. Thanks to Olivier and the bunch.

Got the controler board to work, but the lcd trim is acting funny (i’ll keep this for another post), but everything seems fine.
Im a total newb to this DIY stuff so please be patient :wink:

Like some other builders, i have pops and a faint distorted sound in the backgroud.
I went thru the other posts first to try and fix my probs, but i have some questions first.

Would too much solder influence the value of a resistance or cap?
Is it normal that none of the the trim pots affect the sound?
Could a 7.5v 1000ma AC be too low to power the board? Should i go with 9v?
I unwound the reso trim pot quite a bit (way more than 22 turns for sure) without feeling any resistance, is it possible i broke it?

On the bright side, i can hear different content in the different presets, i can hear the lfo in the one called “tremolo” and can make sense of sampled bass in others, so i might be close to my goal. in the meantime, if you have any ideas or suggestions, let me know!

Im not home right now, but will review my soldering and orientations tommorow. Thanks a bunch!

hi!
are you really using an AC supply? it should definitely be DC.

If you are really using AC we can for now stop thinking about anything… while the ATMega might work there will be so much Humm in the Circuit that its nearly MODS. To rule out this issue try running the Shruthi from a 9V Block. Please report the results.

Hugh! Waldorf and Statler have spoken.

It seems to be a great way to have a 50hz-60hz tremolo :slight_smile:

Saves you a LFO…

But you have to move to the power station everytime you want to change the rate :confused:

You may also manipulate the Sun to produce a Geomagnetic Storm that switches out some Nets hence changing the net Frequency… you have to look at the big picture :wink: