SMR4 mkII - Yet more power supply test fails

Hi

I’m a complete hamfisted amateur and I think I’m killing my Shruthi…

In the first SMR4 power supply test I’m getting the following readings on the TL1072P

p4: -0.48
p5: 3.63

I’m getting the same readings for all the other points indicated in the test.

Any ideas what’s wrong? I’ve tested my psu and its doing 9.27v

First, read your Meters instructions, to be shure you are measuring the right thing (DC Voltage with the correct Range. If you measure -0,48 i dont knwo what you have measured? Average Frog Population in your Pond per square Foot? Relative Moon Humidity?)
Then check the soldering at every point of the Power Supply. 99% of the problems are due to the fact you solder the PSU firs and your soldering skills are just evoked or totally rusted. Check if you have scrambled up the 7805 with the 7905 (second common failure)

Ahh, I’d set the meter to detect sarcasm but now the needle’s bent.

I had the 7805/7905 switched, good call. Sorted that out, now +ve readings are all good, but the -ve points all read 0v. Hmmm.

This is not as much fun as I was hoping.

Are the voltages going into the 7805 and 7905 right, means somewhat above 5V and somewhat below -5V?

Not at the moment - should I be testing 7805/7905 with all the other ICs inserted or not?

Thats not sarcasm - you stated you are “hamfisted amateur” and many noobs just turn on their meter and measure whatever the switch is pointing to - and we breaking our minds what this should mean…

Your rails should show plain ±5V a small deviation is OK, sometimes its just the battery of your meter beeing near its end of life that shifts your readings.

You will have to insert the LT1054 for having a negative rail since it generates the negative Voltage the 7905 has to generate…

See the Manual

*Step 5: power supply, testing