Signal path and carrier frequency

Hey Guys!

I’m a beginner in electronics and am trying to understand how the signal path of the oscillators/control on Shruthi. I’m actually studying other synths onboard, and Shruthi is the only one seen so far to send the output signals through a high frequency carrier, which is a very smart solution.

At several points the documentation I saw that the control signals (cutoff, resonance, etc.) has a frequency of about 900Hz in a carrier around 40KHz. It is also said that the oscillators (as a maximum frequency around 20KHz, I suppose) are sent to the filter (SMR-4 in this case) also a carrier of approximately 40KHz. This seems odd, because they would be two periods to transmit a carrier oscillator period, ie there is enough resolution. I also found elsewhere in the documentation stating that the audio signal is sent on a 10MHz carrier, which makes much more sense. Then there are times I’m rolling code and documentation, and can not find how or where it happens.

Basically, the carrier frequency of called “analog outputs” (including oscillators) is 40K or 10MHz? These signals are the audio output (before the filter, of course), or only the control signals (used in the modulation, for instance)?

Last, and not least: where’s on the code happens the multiplexing signal, which initially has 39KHz/8bits and is transmited in 10MHz/1bit?

Well, sorry for the many questions. I’m really banging my head with this for some time, I’m stuck. I hope you can help me, and thanks Olivier for making the Shruthi a project so inspiring.

> which is a very smart solution.

It isn’t. I did that because of very tight hardware/CPU limitations, but I wouldn’t do it on a commercial product. It can bite back in many different ways, including vintage digital equipment (FXs, samplers…) which do not have anti-aliasing filters. I suspect that having those signals run everywhere on a board might cause EMI problems too.