Shruthi-1 ssm2044 : Very Low Volume from Output

Hi Shruthi folks !
I’m a new happy builder of ssm2044 version, everything work nice except that the sound from output is very low ! i have checked the trimmer for gate but it doesn’t change something. I have turned the other one but same thing. Can you indicate me what’s measures i must find on ssm2044 or 2164, it seems that vca doesn’t work properly.
Thanks.

Do you have access to a scope?

Yes

Yoohoo! I’ll scope a few strategic points tonight and tell you the readings…

Thanks a lot Man :slight_smile: !

Hello.
I have built a kit with smr-4 filter today.
Everything looks fine but i have also very low sound.
I have to set my mixer input to max sensitivity and the shruti and i can barely notice that there is a sound.

I have been looking everywhere on the boards to see a short or a bad soldering but i do not see anything.

Sadly I dont have a scope.
But i have a multimeter.

Do you have any suggestions?

@jazzdoktorn: Read this: http://mutable-instruments.net/forum/comments.php?DiscussionID=563&page=1#Item_17 . Someone had the same problem and it was a missing “bridge” on one of the pads for the pots.

I was looking around the discussions here on the forum and i found exactly the same post that you were telling me about.
I was just coming back to try to remove my post here so i wouldnt have to feel stupid and blind.
Then i saw your post…

Thank you for a fast response.

@pichenettes

maybe change the “solder in” bridge to a “break circuit” bridge as the missing bridges seem to cause more problems than nonworking volume pots… :wink:

Any update ?

• a: oscillator waveform with unfiltered HF content, ~3V pp
  • b: same as a, but attenuated, 10mV pp
  • c: nothing if the HP filter is set to 0. As the cutoff of the HP is increased, you should see the equivalent of a progressive low-pass filter sweep on the oscillators signal
  • d: VCA output, 200mV pp
  • e: final output, ~2V pp