Shruthi-1 no audio output

hey there.

First of all I have to say, that i am a noob with soldering and circuits. During the last two days I built a shruthi with smr mk2.
I prepared myself with some tutorials and used the very well and clearly written instructions on mutable-instruments.net.
everything seemed fine during building (means testing of voltages, lcd-display, i get 7.49V on the input and 4.98V if i check the motherboard supply) and i double and triple checked the parts on the pcb. however my shruthi doesnt output any sound at all.
i tried several things: sending midi from ot, using the shruthi-1 sequencer, pressing the 4th knob for 2s to start the test note: nothing. i checked the solderjoints on both pcbs and remade them, if they looked a bit weird. i also bridged the 3 pole adapter for pole selection in the hope, it didn’t make contact with the jumper.

i think the problem has to do with something like this?:

• i didnt pay attention for the direction of the ic sockets while building the smr mk2 board, but the ics themselves are the right way round (if that could be a problem)
  • still bad solder joints
    -on the other hand, i dont know if midi is really working.

i dont really understand how to narrow down the search. or what could be the problem, also after reading the forum. i hope someone can help me

thanks
kevin

First things first, did you solder the wire bridge beside the audio in/out connectors?

"Test note

Press S1 for a long period of time to trigger a C4 test note. Press and hold again to stop the test note. Coupled with the sequencer or arpeggiator, this allows the Shruthi to be used as a stand-alone instrument, without an external MIDI keyboard."

So you pressed the wrong switch for a very short period of time for the test note.
Please try again, this time holding switch 1 from the left for something like 10 seconds, post results :slight_smile: