Shruthi-1 Build

Hi all !

I’m finally gonna start to build my SMR4 mk2 after doing some other kits to practice. This one is the standard kit but I ordered it with the red plexiglass case, simply because I couldn’t resist to achieve the Polivoks style. However, I completely forgot the colour scheme for the lcd and leds on the kit.

I was wondering if I can order any other red on black lcd/oled and also red leds and just implement them in the build, or if I might have to order some other parts that are not included in the vanilla kit for them to work properly ?

Thanks guys

If you order the right type you should be OK.
There is one resistor that is matched for the leds in the LCD so you might have to change that. But Oled doesn’t need the resistor.

So, if I order this red on black LCD, can I follow the kit instructions step by step like it was the default LCD ?

Also, can I also get some red leds and follow the instructions for the kit ?

I’m still learning about this whole thing and I guess moving outside the instructions could result in more harm than good, therefore the worry about having to make changes just to be able to customise my shruthi.

Regarding the Ambika, I also have one of the kits that were sold this month. I think I’m gonna leave the leds as they come but would be interested in getting one of these screens. Can’t seem to find them at mouser does anyone know what they are precisely ?
Edit: similar to the midnight edition shruthi screen colour

Thanks

Yes display and led look fine… You don’t have to use a resistor for the display. You can just use a piece of wire.

Alright appreciate shiftr !

I know this should be on ambika forum but can someone also point me out to a compatible blue LCD for it ? One that doesn’t require a transistor cause I’ll be doing it from a kit !

Hi guys !

I didn’t solder the MIDI socket correctly so now it’s not sitting perfectly on the PCB… I wonder what can happen later on in the build ?