Should I get mono or stereo sound from Shruthi-1?

Hi all
My first ever DIY electronics project is almost completed, a new Shruthi-1 is born!
But after trying my Shruthi for the first time I was kinda surprised to hear sound only on left channel…

I understand this a monophonic synth (only one note at a time, no chords). I know that.
Shouldn’t the sound be stereo, just like the sound demos on the site ?

Any idea what to check or do, if something’s wrong ?

Your help would be much appreciated as I am new to electronics…

-Sam

…using SMR-4 mkII filter. All parts from standard kit.

What type of Cable/Mixer/Soundcard/Whateverdevicethatfurtherprocessesyoursound did you use?

Nope, it’s mono - What would generate the second (right) channel when there only is one voice ?
I’m guessing that the demo’s either simply copy the left channel to the right, or that some simple form of delay/stereo enhancer was used to add to the illusion of a stereo image (this is quite easy to do, but I’m fairly sure that it’s just a copy of the left channel).

(You could mod a stereo “receptacle” to copy the output to both left and right channels, but you would incur some form of volume loss, and there’s no real reason to do it this way)

@fcd72 :
Headphones plugged directly into Audio Out jack, for testing before final parts assembly…

Nothing wrong with your shruthi, it’s supposed to be this way :slight_smile:

Once done, if you can select two channels for your mono input (IE, tell your DAW program that input 7 is stereo, when in reality it is only mono), you will get a “stereo” output. This will of course be at the same level, therefore really mono, but with some form of delay, or reverb you can easily create the illusion of stereo sound.

Your Headphones use a Stereo Jack - in the Shruthi theres just a Mono Jack that means only tip (Left channel on Stereo) and GND is connected. There is simply nothing that connects to your Right Driver.
BTW you can be lucky you didnt damage your Hearing…