Shades Schematic questions(?)

Hello friends,

I am fairly new to the synth DIY world and have been really enjoying the concepts and joy of soldering.

I have been studying the modern Shades schematic and have questions.

1: is it possible to achieve success with different op amps than the ones used in the schematic? for example, could i swap in a TL072 or LM324? I can’t seem to find a reliable source for the designated pampas.

2: upon breadboarding the top third of the schematic, I notice strange jumps in voltage. when i turn the potentiometer fully in a single direction and meter the output 1k resister, the voltage seems to jump from negative 10v up to zero and then reverts back to negative. It reminds me of using a comparator module in my synth. However shades is obviously not a comparator. What might i possibly have done wrong and how can i manage achieving the smooth DC - to + ? Similar outcome when i switch the DPDT into attenuation mode; Only then the voltage dances around +10

Any insight or help you kind people might be willing to share is greatly appreciated. Thanks

1. Depends on your definition of success! Noise, distortion and offset will be different. If your goal is to build a circuit that works on your breadboard, you can use a TL07x, that’s good enough.

Any op-amp can be used for the LED driver in place of the LM324.

1. Not the expected behavior! Probably a feedback resistor is missing somewhere, or you mixed up the V+ and V- pins of the op-amp. Or maybe you forgot to connect the power supply?
1 Like

Thanks, My idea of success is a “mostly” functional, smoke-free reaction to turning the power on. This first eight months of learning has produced quite a lot of “magic smoke.”