Shades as offset for modulating Slim Phatty?

Hi, I’m a Eurorack noob. Been lurking here, on Muffwiggler, and a few other places. Caved in today, ordered a Peaks, a Frames, a MIDI/CV interface, and a HEK, all just to modulate a Microbrute and a Minibrute (for now, at least).

I will probably soon also buy an offset, so I can modulate a Slim Phatty safely, and I want to know if Shades can do that.

I’ve patched my Microbrute’s LFO to control the Slim’s filter, and that sounded good, but the SP manual says it wants -5/+5V CV.

Yves Ussont said on the Arturia forums that the Minibrute takes 0-10V input (although in practice it can handle something more like -5V to 12V). So I’m assuming the Microbrute puts out 0-10V as well. I’ll be borrowing a voltmeter soon to check this out, but the Microbrute CV drives the Minibrute perfectly, so it seems a safe bet.

Assuming this is correct, can I use a Shades to offset 0-10V down to -5/+5V? That’s the impression I get from the “Offset generation” section on the module’s page. Although it also seems to imply that the offset capability only works on channel 2, so if I want to offset multiple CV signals for use with the Phatty, I might need more than one Shades.

Also: what CV range do Peaks and Frames put out?

My guess: -5/+5V for LFO modes, and 0-8V for ADSRs. Which would suggest that I should attenuate any ADSR signal from Peaks before patching it into my Moog, but I don’t have to worry about the LFOs.

My reasoning: as far as I can tell, Doepfer set the Eurorack standard, and this Doepfer page says the A-100 LFOs run -2.5/+2.5V, while its ADSRs run 0-8V.

And this Muffwiggler discussion says that a lot of manufacturers will diverge from these standards from time to time, but 0-8V is normal for ADSRs. No definitive answer re LFOs but it looks like -5/+5V is more common than -2.5/+2.5V.

Whoops, sorry - Peaks output range was answered in another thread.