Ripples as first filter?

Title says it all. it’s time that I started my modular and i’m wondering if you more experienced folks can recommend this idea or is there a wiser move? I love everything Mutable, but I know there are more vanilla filters to be had for less cash, though I worry that I would end up getting ripples and casting aside the blander filter I started on.

sat nam,
Michael

I have nothing to compare it to as it is my first filter, but it’s does everything you want a filter to do- plus some stuff I didn’t know filters could do, like multiple outputs.

It has a VCA before one of the outputs, so it’s handy (i’m new to this, but I already know you can never have enough amps). It will also allow you to output your 5v modules to 12v.

It also happens to be a squeaky clean, amazing filter that’s a lot like Roland Juno filters, but it can get fuzzy with the FM + lots of resonance- very snappy and bubbly, but never quiet, which is the worst thing a filter can be.

Same deal here, Ripples is my first Euro filter but I am very happy with it. It’s a nice contrast to my MicroBrute’s, and it is definitely awesome having a built in output VCA available, especially with a small/new system, though to be fair it’s not the ONLY Euro filter with that.

Given that I can’t compare it with other Euro filters, I CAN definitely say that it’s certainly a Mutable Instruments filter (not being witty, I think you know what I mean :slight_smile: ), and if you like most things MI, you won’t be disappointed. I can also say that while I’ve certainly come across things that I’d change about other modules, I have little desire personally for another filter except perhaps something like a Buchla-style Low Pass Gate to see what the hype is all about.

@RyanA4 I am not sure what you mean about outputting 5V to 12V though?

Yeah I guess it doesn’t output CVs so that’s irrelevant. I was trying to think of other reasons why it’s great with other MI stuff!