Question on Edges, Yarns and MIDI and all that

Hi all, I am quite intrigued by some of the Mutable Instruments eurorack modules, but as I am fairly new to all this I have a few questions: There seem to be more and more digital oscillators available and some indeed sound really good. What I find puzzling is the need to have a Midi/CV interface (DAC), a small cable, then a ADC to play them via Midi. It seems to make a lot more sense to (also) be able to play them directly via MIDI (*).

For example, MI Edges offers an optional MIDI-expander. While the documentation is not too detailed, I understand that it provides the possibility to play notes via midi (polyphonic or multitimbral). But would I also get the gate outs to use as gate/triggers for external envelopes or VCAs (I know that the ADC won’t turn into DACs but digital I/O are sometimes a bit more flexible)?
So would this MIDI expansion allow me to play Edges as as multitimbral MIDI sound source, including trigger or gate out, if needed? Could the V/Oct-ins still be used, either to offset pitch, or even to shape the VCA (then its almost a self contained synth-voice)?
[btw: what does “NES_TRIANGLE_CLK outputs the same frequency as Channel 1, multiplied by 16” mean? So if I play an A4 (440Hz), it will output an A8 (7040Hz)? anyway, different topic …]

Similar: Yarns can also act as a simple multitimbral digital oscillator. Does this include a corresponding gate/trigger out, to use it as a self-contained synth voice, adding just ENV and filter as additional modules? Such a possibility would be great for either a minimal setup, or for someone to begin with not too many modules.

More general: Will Braids also get a MIDI expansion? Does anyone know other eurorack oscillators that can be used straight with MIDI and provide a gate/trigger out? I found this one (never heard of the company before): http://www.modulargrid.net/e/emw-midi-oscillator