Question about development platform

A friend of mine is looking into messing with embedded hardware development, maybe to port some software ideas to hardware. He asked me about advice on the best development platform to use, but of course I’m not an expert, so I forward the question to you guys here!
From what I have understood the aim is to develop some standalone devices, mostly stuff that works with MIDI and audio in/outputs and can be built DIY (though I don’t think he’s planning to release actual kits for now). Do you have any suggestions?
I suggested Teensy, but I guess there’s more powerful platforms to work with. He seems to lean towards proprietary solutions (TI or Analog Devices with Sharc processors), but I haven’t heard much good from those regarding cost/value.

If it’s a kit, I assume it’s through-hole. Which means the product will have to be split into a pre-built board with the MCU, and another board with the rest of the components.

Option 1: Teensy. It’s cheap, there are already a few projects using it, but it’s not very powerful for DSP applications.

Option 2: Raspberry pi. Might not be the best choice if latency is an issue and/or if you need to talk with predictable timing to specific peripherals.

Option 3: Custom board with the MCU of your choice. Everything is possible. But Sharc… it’s big, expensive, and requires more external components than an ARM MCU…

Thanks a lot for the advice. So I already got 1 out of 3 right! :slight_smile:
Custom MCU board would mean you make it yourself, doesn’t it? What CPUs are recommendable right now? I know this depends a lot on what you need to do with it… which I don’t really know, but just to have an idea…

> Custom MCU board would mean you make it yourself, doesn’t it?

Yes, and you find a contract manufacturer to build it for you. Basically, the inconvenience of a DIY projects and the extra effort of an assembled product rolled into one :slight_smile: