Porting WM8731 codec driver from STM32 SPL to LL drivers -- sample rate question

Hi all,

I’ve recently begun the work of taking the WM8731 codec driver found in a lot of Mutable projects from depending on STM’s Standard Peripheral Library to the newer Low Level drivers. As soon as I can verify it’s working I’ll throw it up on GitHub in case they could be useful for someone else wanting to work with the HAL/LL and still use the driver.

Full disclosure, this is a learning exercise for me – I’ve done some work in the past with embedded systems but this is my first time diving into ARM or STM technologies.

Just about everything is compiling now, but the last hurdle is in InitializeAudioInterface(...) and I’m not sure how to proceed. The SPL code uses RCC_PLLI2SConfig(N, R) but the LL equivalent wants N, R, and M: LL_RCC_PLLI2S_ConfigDomain_I2S(M, N, R). I’ve had a look through the manuals and tried to work backwards through the calculations, but I’m not sure how this is supposed to work. Can anyone shed some light on this?

I googled and found this documentation for the function you mentioned. As a semi-educated guess, M could be a parameter allowing fractional frequency division, which may not have been supported in the SPL code. However, there doesn’t seem to be a #define value for M=1, i.e. no division…

You may have done this already, but it might also help if you can find a block diagram of the PLL subsystem somewhere in a datasheet so you get a high level idea of what’s going on.

You can download on the ST website an Excel spreeadsheet where you feed all the parameters and all the clock rates for the entire tree are computed.

Maybe it’s been integrated into the Cube GUI.

I found the spreadsheet and have figured out what the issue is – it’s not the LL drivers, necessarily, but the difference in hardware (I’m using the STM32F411RE).

The Cube GUI does indeed have a version of this spreadsheet. I can use this to get the values and generalize from there.