Pole mixing VCF as stand-alone?

I don’t have Shruthi but have interest in building the white board 4-pole mission Filter as a module for my MU modular.

I see that power is already rectified/onboard, and the schematic shows clearly, the cutoff & resonance, vca envelope and pre-filtered raw OSC audio… I’m no expert in reading schematics (just learning) so could somebody give me a few hints on how the Filter mode is decoded (I assume this comes in through the 74HC595 shift register). Beyond this, could the mode be selected by faking (via panel mounted switches and some encoder/decoders) the desired mode for filter type and resonance flavor?

Otherwise, just wanted to thank everybody for this ‘local’ community. I’ve found and learned so much just from reading across the past month and checking out all of the schematics, pictures, and build descriptions. I’m inspired by all of this!

Thank you.

the 74HC595 just output bits (+5v or 0v signals) to the 4053 and the 4051, that actually do the switching. The 595 awaits a serial digital input, which is not very practical to use unless you use a micro controller. So, if you want to use the 4PM as a standalone unit without any programmation and control board, you better not put in the 74hc595, and use switches and/or roto-contacters (is it an english word?) wired to the outputs of the 595. Don’t know if it’s really easy to use, but you could probably just wire a switch to every of its outputs, and write down the usable configurations on a sheet of paper…

Beware that the inputs are not following a v/oct scale though, and even worse, that depending on the filter resonance modes, a same voltage won’t yield a comparable result : those scales are ‘corrected’ by the shruthi’s software (example : a “soft” resonance in the wobbly mode could result in a very harsh, self-oscillating resonance in the ms-20)