Plaits trigger vs gate

I’m new to modular though have a semi modular (Mother-32). Controlling plaits with beatstep pro - but notes start and end quickly - not for as long as I hold down pad. I think this is a difference between a gate input and a trigger input like plaits has. So how can I control note length? Gate output from beatstep to gate input on m32 and 0-coast seems to work fine. What am I missing?

Plaits has a TRIG input that triggers the internal (D) envelope and pings the LPG - none of these have sustain.

You can either patch the gate signal to Plaits’ LEVEL input (or to both TRIG and LEVEL if you want to trigger the internal D envelope too), or stop treating Plaits as a complete voice module and patch it into a VCA with a proper ADSR envelope modulating it.

3 Likes

Cheers - thanks for coming back to me so quickly.

To add to above:

Some envelopes have ASR (attack sustain release).

Alot of modular envelopes only have attack and release. The trigger (or gate) initiate the envelope but the length of the gate is ignored.

ie: Only adsr or asr envelopes will respond to you holding down the pad on the beatstep. Andd this envelope should be patched into the’level’ input. It is common (but not necessary) to then patch the output into a filter. You can mult the level envelope and patch into the filter cutoff CV (or use a different envelope or lfo random etc.)

1 Like

Sorry for the daft question again - would I patch the beat master into a VCA (that’s being modulated by my Contour) then into the levels input? I’ve only just bought a vca but for some reason thought it came later in the chain? So much to learn!

What is the beat master? Is that a module?

A standard vca when used with an audio signal will act as an automatic volume knob. In a modular synth you need to provide a ‘control voltage’ (cv) which tells the vca what volume to play.