Plaits Goes Krell

I’ve had a go at creating a Krell patch, using the Plaits module, Maths the 2HP RND.

I continue to be interested in Buchla modules and was surprised to learn that much of the 200e system is digital. I had no idea. This has given me a new-found respect for the Plaits module and the many sounds you can create with it. For a short while I was beginning to think of it as a modular ‘preset’ machine but I have come back to loving it and am learning that it pays to spend the time experimenting with the different ‘algorithms’, tweaking and twiddling to unlock the many sounds you can coax out of it.

2 Likes

you broke the krell rule of using a sequencer. You use randomised decays/pitches tied to EOC triggers.

1 Like

Hi, thanks for your response. As I say in the video, I was fairly sure I’d got it wrong. I’m new to this and have much to learn. I need to go back to Todd Barton’s video posts and study them. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Have a look at this krell patch breakdown.

In this patch they use the Make Noise 0-Coast but you have most of the functionality in your rack.

You don’t have a sample and hold. What you could use is the SQ-1 in 0-5 volt range and attenuate with Maths to taste, or 0-2 volt range. You will need to set a ‘random’ variety of voltage ranges manually. In the true spirit of Krell patches you probably shouldn’t have the voltages quantised (you could set it to ‘linear’). Have it in random mode. One of the CV outs should go to 1V/OCT of Plaits and the other CV out goes to ‘both’ input of the Maths envelope.

The EOC gate needs to be patched into the ‘sync’ input of the SQ-1

Modulate plaits to taste and add lots of reverb so that it sounds like a cave on an alien planet!

Give it a go. It is a great starting point into exploring self-patched ‘generative’ music.

FYI - you could house the passive multiple you have outside of the rack and use something like the 2hp random module.