Peaks

Q1.Is it possible to send an LFO from Peaks into a pitch quantiser, like THIS, would doing that give me a quantised scale?

I am a total newby to these things so please excuse my ignorance!

Yes.

Why though?
You will get a quantized scale going up and down all the time, which I at least don’t find that interesting of a concept.

But in theory yes, in practice probably not so much - from the manual, under specifications(specifically mentioning LFO speed) :"…0.03 Hz to 160 Hz".

So you would get a lot of nothing, then some rumbly tones, more rumbly bottom end tones, slightly higher rumble, a bit of bass, and then go back down again. That is, assuming that your system can reproduce those frequencies - So your oscillator needs to go that low, and your speakers would need to be able to follow the oscillator downward. Ultimately not really worth it in my humble opinion, since a good portion of the LFO sweep will be below what speakers can reproduce, and while you could tune the oscillator up, I don’t know how the quantizer will react to being fed such low frequencies.

Forgive me if I missed something, or didn’t consider a cool usage scenario, it’s kinda late here… :confused:

You should consider the Volt output range of Peaks rather than it’s LFO speed since oscillators usually take V/Oct. I’m not sure exactly what Peaks output range is but I’m sure it will be musicially useful. If you set peaks to the random waveform and put that through a quantizer into a VCO you will get some nice results that aren’t simply a scale going up and down.

> I don’t know how the quantizer will react to being fed such low frequencies.