Oscilloscope/frequency measurement/multimeter suggestions

Yo!

I’m looking for an oscilloscope for basic tasks, like adjusting turntable pitch or x0xb0x tuning. I think best would be an analog second hand thingie from ebay. Any suggestions? I have no experience with oscilloscopes so far.

Cheers!

Oh, if possible, I don’t want to spend more than 100 Euro. Is this realistic?

Get one with a square display, anything with a circular display will be ancient.

Being an analogue device they need calibration and therefore you won’t be able to rely on its readout unless it has been calibrated.

They vary in their maximum frequency display, 20Mhz being the low end but still perfectly fine for visualising anything in the audio frequency range (20-20Khz normally).

Hmm do I need anothere oscilloscope for calibration? :smiley:
I guess digital ones are not in the <100 Euro price range?

You can get small digital handhelds cheap, although I’ve no idea if they are any good.

eg. ARM DSO201

Even without calibration you can probably compare two turntables (one good, one bad) using the two inputs of the scope and adjust the bad one to match the good one.

It’s realistic to expect a basic 20 MHz dual channel analog scope from the 80s to be sold at ~ 100€. I often see those, and from reputed brands (Hameg, Metrix, Tek). A bit more (say 140€) and you’re in the range of people selling their Rigol/Atten.