OSCar filter behavior with dual SVF

The Oxford OSCar synthesizer featured a dual filter that could run in parallel. One of the unique features was a “separation” control that would set the filter frequencies apart from one another. The resonance and cutoff knobs would control both filters together but with the cutoffs offset from one another you would have 2 resonance peaks near each other rather than one, resulting in a very unique (i.e. awesome) sound. It would seem possible to achieve this behavior with the dual SVF board. Is this something that is currently implemented? If not, would it be terribly difficult to implement? I’m a programmer so I could try my hand at implementing it if need be…

Here’s a pic of the plugin that emulates the OSCar just in case that’s helpful:

Amazing project by the way. I’m definitely getting one for christmas, just trying to decide which filter module I want.

Thanks,
-r

This is where the value of the “cutoff 2” parameter is read from the patch data structure and copied to the place where it will ultimately be routed to the CV:

boom

If you use engine.patch_.filter_cutoff_1 + engine.patch_.filter_cutoff_2 there (beware: you might need to do the addition on uint16_t and check for clipping), the cutoff 2 will behave as an offset from cutoff 1 rather than as an independent value.

couldn’t that be done in the matrix by using slightly different cutoff values for both filters but apply the same cutoff and CV1 modulation?
or are you talking of something else?

This could also be done by routing one of CC A, CC B, CC C, CC D, CV1, CV2, CV3, CV4 to both filters with the same amount ; and then use the CC / CV to control the “coupled” cutoff.

It might be worth adding to the firmware, though, let’s see if it fits (I’m thinking of adding an extra set of modes for filter 1, in those modes, filter 1 will become the “master” of filter 2 and filter 2’s settings will be relative to those of filter 1).