Opinions on Ambika as soft synth

I am reading through the GitHub code for Ambika and I do see the avr library referenced, and some things like that, but it doesn’t look super daunting in terms of complexity.

Since I am really not experienced with hardware at all, and I am a very experienced programmer for a living, but not a very good one, I was thinking what if we just make Ambika a soft synth?

I know from some people’s point of view that might be missing the point, but it would be cool to be able to, for example, make the software version of the controller able to address say, 32 voices? and it would be up to the user to have a computer that could support that.

(you could use something like JUCE with osc control to edit the synth, so you could run that on your iPad or anything else, and the Ambika could run on its own box. that might sound weird, but for example I have a 2U rack server I am building to run soft synths and I want to control them or the VST host from a remote device and not have the keyboard, monitor, etc. But that is even more off-topic. )

is this a stupid idea?

The code base won’t get you very far in terms of sound because the “magic” of the Ambika is in the super crappy signal path (cheap 12-bit converters for audio, dirty 8-bit PWM CVs, analog filters).

So either you work hard in emulating all that, or maybe you take another approach and build a poly VA using Braids or Plaits’ oscillators (what the “Ambika Pro” would have been).

Ok, that’s funny. Ok I am peering at the legacy ambika site and looking at the PCBs for the filters…

Just listening, the Ambika has a very pleasant sound, I am still having a hard time looking at a project like this as code + PCB designs etc and forming a good opinion.