Newbie saying hi, would love inputs! :)

Greetings!

I’m new to the world of modular, about to jump in. I bought myself a semi-modular (Behringer Neutron) a few months ago to test the water and see if I’d like the feel and instantly got hooked. I’ve been watching a lot of videos to try and understand the theory, terminology and overall use of specific modules.

I’ve played piano and guitar when I was younger, but I recently discovered the world of synths and how you can make endless tracks without playing notes like a typical instrument. It really resonated with me and it’s such an enjoyable way to explore music.

The kind of things I’m most interesting in making with my modular is generative ambient music, I want to make some soothing stuff to study / work / sleep / play boardgames with friend to. Nice chill background music. Patch something new everyday and let it slowly drift into different sounds.

And I want just want to explore making random sounds and use it almost like a toy, the hands-on tactile feel of modular synths is so much fun.

I’ve tried to read as many recommendation threads and watch as many tutorial videos (saw a lot of videos by DivKidVideo doing deep explanations of MI modules) and I’m trying to figure out what my first few purchases should be.

For the case, I’m highly considering the 7u 104hp intellijel performance case. The aesthetic is stellar, the size seems big enough to fit plenty of modules and expand. The 1u row also seems like it offers a lot of extra features that takes little space for what they add to the setup.

For the 1u tiles, I’m looking at a bundle from Sweetwater that includes…

• Intellijel MIDI 1u
  • Intellijel Quadratt 1u
  • Intellijel Phones 1u
  • Intellijel Line In 1u
  • Intellijel Line Out 1u
    and to that adding Intellijel Dual VCA 1u