Newbie: Help needed for replacement piezo roland octapad II

Hello all,

So I am kind of a newbie to DIY, I only completed a Shruthi kit and some basic repair of some racks at home as well as soldering my own cables…
I just received a Roland Octapad II. It is a nice and solid gear but it seems that some pad (more than half of them) are not sensitive anymore, I really have to hit like a crazy moron on some of these to get a velocity response.

I opened the beast and noticed that most of the piezo have white oxidation/ things around the soldered cables on it, I am not sure if it really is a problem but well…
I plan to change the piezo captors, they are easily accesible.

As I am a newbie to DIY and electronics, I am not sure what kind of piezo I have to source, I measured them, they are 35mm piezo.
But is there a specific voltage, frequency needed? I found these at http://www.gotronic.fr/art-disque-piezoelectrique-dp035-3843.htm

I’m not sure which kind of piezo I should take and where to find them.

So i would be really glad to read any input for the changing of these piezo and any help about how I should proceed in order not to destroy the whole thing (it still costed me a decent amount of money).

Thanks a lot in advance and sorry for being kind of clueless, i’d rather be careful and ask infos where there are serious people (this forum).

I think you could use about any piezo in there… just be careful and work slowly. I don’t know if your piezo’s are the real problem but if it’s easy accessible it can’t hurt to try and replace one.

Hi shiftr,

Thanks for your answer,
If I can use any piezo, that is great news.

Well, I think that it comes from unsensitive piezo, because 2 pads on the 8 are completely fine. I do not know if it is a coincidence or not, but these two functional pads are located under the main circuit board, kind of protected. Could it be that they were kind of protected from whatever happened?