Need help with Shruthi-1 original patches

Hello all, I’m an amateur synth-enthusiast, and last year, I completed building the Shruthi/Phoenix-XT (from TubeOhm). I wanted to make a minor modification that would allow me to load sequences while notes were being played, and I found a modified firmware with the sequencer hack here on the forum that worked well for me. I flashed it to my XT via Sysex. There was one problem though: I had already built a small collection of my own patches that I’d saved… and I wasn’t sure if those patches would be wiped out by the flashing process. I’d read that it was OK to take out the memory chip before flashing, so that those presets could be preserved. However, after the flashing was done and I pushed the chip back into its socket, the first 18 patches are completely BLANK! I tried re-flashing the original firmware v1.02 with the memory chip in place, but it did not restore the original patches from 1 to 18. Not sure what I’ve done wrong here, but it would be nice to get those patches back. Any suggestions?

I do like using the Shruthi-Editor-1.03 (by Manuel), coz it’s very user-friendly and allows me to view the patches’ settings as well… so, if anyone here could share the .syx files for the first 18 original patches, then I could upload them back to my Phonenix via Shruthi-Editor… that would be great and much appreciated!

Where have you read this? It would be very, very, very odd if an AVR programmer - a device sold in the 10,000 of units and made by a large semiconductor company - somehow knew how to erase the memory chip of a specific model of an obscure DIY synth.

So no, you don’t have to remove the EEPROM chip when programming the main processor. There’s no way the programmer is going to know about its existence and erase it.