Modulation Source: Tides vs. Stages

HI everyone! I have been building a Eurorack rig since 2017, and this is where I am currently:

(I also have another three-tier rack with a Mother-32, Subharmonicon, and DFAM, plus a Grandmother and Matriarch)

There’s a lot that can be done already, and while I’m not being hard and fast about where things are patched, I have followed a general trend of putting together what could be complete separate voices in Erica Synths, Synthesis Technology, Make Noise, and Mutable Instruments lines.

So looking at the top line of Mutable modules I’ve got Braids, Rings, Veils, Ripples, and Shades. I feel like a modulation source is missing from the MI line, but I’m not sure what the best choice would be here. I’ve narrowed it down to Tides and Stages. The last 14hp on that top line is where I would like to put the final MI module (“Clouds 2”/“Birds”/whatever!) when its released, because I have a suspicion that Braids–>Rings–>MI ??? is going to be something really fun.

One thing to consider is that in addition to the other Moog gear I mentioned in the parentheses above, I also have eight channels of “wild card” modulation via the DC coupled outs on my UAD Apollo and Max/MSP CV sources I can code myself. Having this tends to make me lean toward Stages as opposed to Tides, because of Stages can be used as an EG.

What do you think?

Thanks!

Dave

Both are amazing but Stages wins in terms of pure functional potential I think. I mean, the correct answer is that you should have both because they do their things so amazingly, but the sheer flexibility of Stages takes some beating - want a 6 stage complex envelope? YEP, want 4 independant LFOs and an AD envelope SURE, want to do some sequencing/switching? COVERED need 6 individual decay envelopes? THEY’RE ALL IN HERE and so much more and in all of the combinations.

1 Like