MidiPal voltage in to pitch bend data out use case

How difficult would it be to programmatically take an incoming voltage (through one of the 8 pads), and output pitch bend data. What are the pitfalls is issues; resolution?

Many low cost controllers only do 7-bit midi anyway. Would it be feasible and trivial to code an app for MidiPal to do this?

I’m no expert but based on my reading the spec, there is no up/down, rather it’s 0 (down all the way) with a center at 0x2000 and 3fff bend fully up. Is averaging/steadying best down in the analog realm, or digitally?

Thanks.

You first need to buffer the incoming voltage properly - CVs range from 10 10V , the MIDIpal can just take 0-3,3V and thereafter will be destroyed.
If you just want a Pot that can be driven by the MidiPals onboard PSU you can just connect it to the Input Pads.

the MidiPal has 8 free inputs to add pots that sent midi CC … can these be re-configured to send midi pitch bend. Is this what you meant?
Sounds do-able …

The voltage for the MidiPal has be below 3.3V … i see, someone was fast and edited the post :wink:

I have it wired up using the onboard 3.3V today and the CC app works well.

What I’m looking to do is take attenuated voltage from a synth.com pitch bend wheel and have it converted to Midi pitch bend. I’ve got a fair sized MOS-LAB modular and all is well there but I just picked up a synth.com 5 octave controller which will arrive this week. It’s really just a Fatar keybed (high quality) with a contraller onboard that converts key switching and timing for the velocity on/off note and channel pressure information to Midi out. Then of course I use my existing Midi-CV to speak to my modular.