Just give me the damn candy. newb problems

This is my first build. Things have been going surprisingly smooth. Finished testing audio and led. To my delight everything checks out. Hook up the lcd and there is problems. If you look at the lcd straight it appears as if its not on. If you look from the side angle it appears slightly illuminated. Help! Meanwhile this piece of candy just stares at me laughing inside.

Hi!

Have you adjusted the contrast trim pot?

I presume you are making a Shruthi from a kit?

Also, check that all solder points to/from the lcd are good. Check for cold joints or shorts between pins.

As I recently have had the same “trouble”,
with display on midialf,
you have 2 turn the LCD-poti “very often” 2 see letters arrive.

Is the backlight on or off? Maybe you could post a picture… What have you soldered as the R_LCD resistor?

Lcd is emitting some light. Most noticeable if held at an angle. Here is an above shot. Sorry for the clarity. I snapped a few quick ones on my way to work.

Not a great photo but at least you can see the light emitting on the bottom of the lcd

AAARGH!
You MUST BE XTREMELY CAREFULL not to touch with the voltage regulators the the digital board - else you might damage/destroy/trash your digital board!
See Part11 of the Instructions

As i cant see any spacers between the board i fear exactly this happened and you killed your ATMega or something…

When testing the only parts that touched were the midi in and out housing and maybe the top corner of IC9 on the filter board.

IC9, the 7805, is a voltage regulator, also known as the bringer-of-instant-death-to-certain-chips-on-the-digital-board-if-it-contacts-something thingy.

IC 9 actually is the 7805 posiitve Voltage regulator… do your Knobs work as expected? does your unit respond to MIDI?