How to release music in 2017

Folks,
I come from the slightly bygone era of putting out a cassette, then maybe cdr or cd demo/EP and playing gigs to get it into people’s hands. I briefly operated a very small record label and broke even on my one release- 10+ years ago. I have some (now) dated experience.

My question is how does one release experimental electronic music in this modern age. For reference, I do not use a smartphone nor Facebook. I would probably be a Luddite were it not for MI. I have read about cassette releases, and pressing companies seem to include online mp3 sales as an add-on for pressing a batch of cds.

What has worked for those of you that have released your own music? Perhaps I should note that live performance is central to my approach. I have always considered this critical to my own music making and subsequent promotion.

Thanks!

Right now the cassette format seams to sell in itself, i.e. people seem to be interested in buying cassettes regardless of the quality of the music. That being said I’ve only seen cassette releases of 100 copies or less. So we’re talking really tiny releases.

Selling music today is hard. Just getting people to listen to your music is as tough as it was 20 years ago to sell your records. The market if flooded with huge amounts of quality home productions being given away.

I’m just glad that a few hundred people are willing to listen every time I release a new track. :slightly_smiling_face:

Bandcamp. Release a physical copy as well, such as tape, minidisc etc but bundle it with a download code. Some people like having the item but want the music digitally.

Techmoan suggested using odd formats to generate publicity. Elcaset, DCC, video tape even. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lVyanU3GgG8

release free with the purchase of a tangible good. Fidget spinner, yoyo tshirt, 3d printed chess piece whatever.