How to MI Attenuverters Work?

Hi,

I’m new to modular and have experimented with sending modulation to my MI Rings and Plaits, but I’m having a hard time conceptualizing and controlling how it works with the latter’s built-in attenuverters. I understand (theoretically) how attenuverters work in general (e.g., decrease signal/range of LFO [0-5V–>0-2.5V or whatever] and then reverse the polarity if needed).

BTW: I’m trying to think through this in terms of the way modulating guitar pedals works (which is what I’m more familiar with). Sorry if that’s a bad analogy to start with!

If I’m sending an LFO to Rings’ Damping CV-in and I use the built-in attenuverter:

(1) does the Damping knob set the maximum value the dampening can go, even with the LFO at maximum? So the LFO would only ‘wiggle’ between fully CCW and its de facto value?

And (2) does the ‘+’ on the attenuverter correspond to an attenuation without polarity switching and the ‘-’ correspond to an attenuation with polarity switching? So if I increase the value of the attenuverter on the ‘+’ side will it effectively increase the rate of how fast the LFO will wiggle between fully CCW and the de fact value?

I’m a little lost, so any sage advice would be much appreciated!

You’re understanding it wrong, so we’ll have to go back to the beginning!

The first thing I have to explain is that LFOs are sometimes unipolar (say they’ll wiggle between 0V and 10V) or bipolar (they wiggle between -5V and +5V). How to know if your LFO is bipolar or unipolar? It’s usually explained in its manual, but you can also check the colors on its output LEDs, or when you patch it through a module like Shades!

You’ll also see that sometimes, LFO modules have a lower range (say unipolar between 0V and 5V).

The main knob (eg: DAMPING on Rings) controls what is called an offset (between 0 and 5V). Think of it as a “base setting”, ie, what setting you’d get with a flat (null) modulation signal.