How to check if Plaits is in tune

Hi all,

I am a relative newbie to Eurorack (and non-midi music making in general) but Plaits was the first voice I bought a few months ago and i had great fun with it up until now, eventually pairing it up with Marbles. The following question may very well demonstrate a great lack of musical knowledge…

Lately I got the feeling that, with the frequency know at 12 'o clock, Plaits is sounding a tad too high. I have already tweaked the range using the hold knob and twisting the Harmonics knob, but that does not change a lot.

I have a simple tuning app on my phone (just using the microphone so that might be slightly off) and even with all the knobs at center position and a simple C out from my keystep pro I seem to get wildly erring results.

I really see no reason why it could be off (I did play around with the internal LPG and envelope for a bit), so I am looking for a simple way/setting to check whether it is in tune.

• What model should I use for best results?
  • Knob positions (currently all centered)?
  • No input apart from a trigger and a v/oct from my keystep. (Silly question aside: i don’t know which C on my keystep pro represent 1V or 3V either, and Googling it does not yield a straight answer)?

Calibration seems like a step too far, as other topics seem to suggest that it’s not that easy to ‘detune’ it, and I would have to have a clear 1V or 3V source (or buy a multimeter and start measuring my keystep pro output).

Again, sorry for the apparent lack of knowledge, but any help would be greatly appreciated.

Yves

The easiest model to check tuning is the pair of analog waveforms. Keep TIMBRE at 12 o’clock and MORPH fully CW. The signal on OUT will be a square wave, which is very fool-proof for a tuner.