Grids + Shruthi's?

Hello everyone :slight_smile:

I’m very new to modular stuff, but I fell in love with Mutable Instruments, so I’d love to get started with MI’s modules.
I’m currently building 3 Shruthi’s (YM, 4MP & Polyvoks) and have been wondering : can I use them with Grids ?
I would of course mod the Shruthi’s to add CVs, but is that doable ?
How should I go about it ?

Any input is appreciated.
Costo.

Bad idea. You’ll need three Shruthi to play the 3 channel of sounds, and you’ll have to mod them to get trigger by an external gate.

Yes, pichenettes, I know I need 3 Shruthi’s and I need to mod them, that’s exactly what I have and want.

Why is that a bad idea ?

Modding would just consist in soldering 2 mini jack female to the control board PCB of each Shruthi’s, no big deal, is it ? I guess Grids outputs no more than 5v ?

I’m fairly certain that it is a bad idea because the shruthi is digitally controlled, not voltage controlled.
Simply adding female jacks to the board and powering 5-10v trough them would guarantee a non-working shruthi.
Edit - there is a mod for this sort of thing on the wiki, but I wont link directly to it, since you seem to lack a bit of the technical know-how of how to do it properly… (Messing it up= destroyed ATMega = ~12$ out the window+having to program a new one/order one from pichenettes)

The shruthis were never meant to be controlled via actual CV, unlike for instance the Anushri.

You’re making lots of assumptions, there, my friend.

The specs of Grids specify it outputs 5V for the trigger and accent 1,2,3.
In the Shruthi docs, in case of CV mod, it says it supports 5v.
I don’t see what the big trouble it would be.
It’s just a trigger and an accent, I’m not trying to insert CVs in the chain.

BTW, I’m old enough to run the risk of destroying an ATMega, thank you for your concern.
I also can find a mod in the wiki/docs, even if you don’t link it directly.