Great First Beginner's Project

I ordered this great little beginner’s kit from Amazon, and I highly recommend it for anyone who is new to DIY synths. Not only do you get a little project to practice your soldering skills (the circuit board even includes a little section just for practicing on) but it comes with a 15 page booklet with the basics of electronic circuits, worksheets, and even a little quiz at the end! Just wanted to share that for any fellow noob’s :wink:

Is it a Lufthansa alarm? I need to install an air raid alarm in the home to wake up the wife for work.

oO - 15 pages for that thingie ?

Looks cool for the absolute beginners.

For people who had their first contact with a soldering iron but still need a little middle level thing to make before a Shruthi, I think the bleeplabs bleep drum is cool, plus it is something you can borderline-use for music making later on, what with the possibility of hacking some midi into it.

I have 98% of my electronic knowledge from the ancestor of this Kit

Honestly highly recommended if you ever wondered what these 595s 165s 7400s are good for.

MB-6582! If you can’t be arsed to slap one together you’re never going to succeed at building electronic stuff. Remember, there are no stupid questions, only stupid people!

Naa, in all seriousness there’s great stuff like the MFOS Sound Lab mini synth to get you started.

@nightworxx - the 15 page booklet isn’t just the build instructions, it explains what resistors, capacitors, etc. are, what the different colored bands mean, has a couple of worksheets to fill out for practice, and a quiz at the end. Quite comprehensive, which is why I am impressed with it and thought it worth sharing.

@Varthdader - Bleep Labs has some very cool stuff for a second project, I hadn’t seen the Bleep Drum yet but that does look interesting. I’m thinking that, the Pico Paso, or maybe even the Nebulophone with a home made full size keyboard for a second project.