First Shruthi-1 kit wont boot up

Hello!

I just completed my first Shruthi-1 kit but when I plugged in my wallwart (12v, 1200mA) nothing happened. No LEDs lit up and I do not have the LCD attached yet. I am fairly new to DIY electronics and I’m not sure how to go about troubleshooting. I will be picking up a multimeter tomorrow so any advice as to how to proceed would be much appreciated!

I’ve attached several pictures of my control and filter boards in case there are any obvious flaws in my component placement or soldering.

Thanks!

I can’t really tell from the pictures, but did you bridge the two pads labelled “SW” ?
They are placed directly in front of the wall wart jack, and unless bridged nothing will happen :smiley:
(Im also assuming that you stacked the two boards while powering them up, and that you didn’t let any of the components on the bottom board touch the top board/vice versa)
=)

Yes, I bridged the SW pads and it didn’t look like any components were touching.

Thanks!

So what is the voltage at the SW bridge, after the diode and at the voltage regulator pins?

Have you soldered the LEDs with the right polarity? You can try hooking it up to an amp and a MIDI keyboard to rule this out. At the exception of the regulators, is there any chip getting particularly hot? If the regulators temperature do not seem to change, have you checked the polarity of your wallwart?

For further testing, you will need the meter.

This is how you can see the polarity of the LEDs, even after the legs has been cut.

The LEDs are all correctly placed in terms of their polarity (thanks for the tip, I didn’t know that!). I don’t get any signal after connecting an amp and midi controller, though it did cancel out the hum of the amp when I plugged it in. I’m not really noticing any heat anywhere on the board and my wallwart shows the polarity as: – (o +

Heading to bed. I’ll be grabbing that multimeter tomorrow morning. Thanks for the help guys! G’night!