First rack module opinions

:wave: Hi all! I’m starting to spec out a rack to purchase, and have been getting a bunch of recommendations from friends about Mutable Instruments. Wanted to check in here with the experts to see what specific thoughts you’d have for someone building their first rack & just starting out. Currently thinking 3U 84hp or 104hp(open to advice as a newbies). Not worried about budget. Looking to avoid virtual options due to an already screen-based day job. Hard to guide this with personal preferences as I’m just starting out on this journey alongside my son, and not totally sure what all this means yet.

Are there specific MI modules that come to mind if you knew someone looking to make a self-contained system that doesn’t rely on external input? What system needs do you think of where other brands could be a better fit? Not trying to force MI if there’s other great modules out there.

Most of these questions I’ve found get flipped back on the question asker to dig in for their needs. More specifically looking for some opinionated thoughts of others that are more experienced with MI.

Plaits, I think would be an excellent sound source for a beginner just for its sheer number of synthesis modes. Working your way through understanding them all would give you a excellent starting point and introduce you to techniques that might grab your ears and you can expand on later.

Marbles is great for generating sequences which is important if you don’t want to control externally.

Stages, especially with @qiemem ’s alt firmware, is a utility/modulation powerhouse. It would also be a very valuable resource for education as it can do so much. If space is limited Peaks provides a lot of bang for your buck in a similar way.

Ripples is a solid and versatile filter. You can go deeper down that rabbit hole with Blades if you can find one.

For FX that can double as voices, Beads or Clouds and Rings are MI crowning achievements many would argue.

1 Like