First build, shruthi smr mkII filter with negative voltage issue (-5.8v). Sorted

G’day, thanks in advance for any assistance from people who’ve ‘been there, done that’.
my power supply is 7.5v, 500mA centre positive (7.73v out). the voltage regulators are in the correct place. Capacitor polarities are correct including the optional tantalum 100uF at C1. The 1054 chip is correctly oriented (even though the carrier isn’t, oops).
My positive voltages are bang on 5.0v but my negative results are -5.8v.
I did refresh a bunch of joints around the components involved which brought my negative voltage down from -6.3v
I did read the board to roughly 30 pages back but nobody had the same issue.
any constructive comments would be much appreciated :slight_smile:

No offence taken, I’m new at this stuff and I’m trying to be as clear as I can.
I’m honestly appreciating the help. :slight_smile:
I’ve switched to 9v which is giving me 9.25v pre-diode and 8.5v post diode.
Still getting + 5.0 v on red markers but now its - 7.75v on the green.

Have you checked with another multimeter?

Have you soldered the optional Tantalum Cap?

thanks for the input :slight_smile:
2nd multimeter (with new 9v battery) gives me 5.0v everywhere on the positive side and -6.30v on the negative side including the output leg of the 7905 voltage regulator.
The optional tantalum 100uF capacitor IS in place and soldered.
I apologize for my delayed responses, I’m in Australia.

so you want to tell us you aussies are slow? :wink:

What do you measure in the 7905 Input???
Id say you somehow managed to damage the 7905…. maybe you accidentally have reversed it?

I didn’t reverse the 7905, the instructions were quite clear about which direction it should face :slight_smile: