Effect pedal exp port with random voltage stuff as input

So, my girlfriend got this used Boss RE-20 Space Echo pedal for a good price, and after trying it out a bit I can say I like the sound, but it is a bit… boring (which I think was pointed out by someone on this forum a while back). I would definitely not have paid the full price for it.

However, I though I might try to use the expression pedal input for some fun stuff. I have never done this before, so I’m afraid I might overlook a few things, causing damage to the Boss pedal. First, I guess I might check out which voltages the RE-20 can bear. But that should be easy, right?, just measuring what output voltage you have from the exp port.

Second, I thought I would try to use my Minibrute to send CV to the pedal. However, I have also quite a few really simple, home-built curcuits which generates square waves from 0-9 V with frequencies in the audio range, controlling amplitude and pitch with a couple of photoresistors. Anything I should think of here? I’m not sure the pedal is built to be able to sample input from the exp port at audio frequencies, but might high frequencies damage the pedal?

So, I’m really a n00b when it comes to things like this and I’m not really sure what I’m doing. But that means I have lots of fun things to learn… hopefully without damaging too much in the process :slight_smile:

It might or might not work.

Expression pedal ports are not voltage inputs, but rather voltage dividers - the effect sends a voltage, the foot controller attenuates it, and the effect receives it back.

Depending on the part of the circuit in which this “loop” appears, substituting the pedal by a direct CV source might or might not work.

Sending an external powered Voltage into a Jack with unknown circuitry is generally a bad idea.