Edges Voice allocation

I thought it would be best practice to start learning a bit more about audio development. Edges eurorack code seems ideal to it :slight_smile: It’s focused on only a few functions and it doesn’t seem super complex.

However I (already) fail to understand the usage of bitwise operations in the voice allocation class.

I’m quite new to it. When I program, I only use decimal numbers and const to indicate things. Edges source code is using bitwise operations all the time. I know how to count bitwise and what the operators do, however I’m not sure why, when and how to use it for code.

E.g. I try to understand this peace of code:

• pool_[voice] = 0x80 | note;
  • // … later:
  • if ((pool_[voice] & 0x7f) == note) {
  • // I tried it and it’s true, but why is it true? is there any way to understand this? I know what & and | is doing, but not why to use it.
  • }

Why not directly saving the note value e.g. 60 and then check it? Maybe there is something I’m missing :confused:

Or in noteOff you are using: pool_[voice] &= 0x7f;
Why not pool_[voice] = 0;?

Same: clearNotes: lru_[i] = kMaxPolyphony – i – 1; //e.g. lru_0 = 4 – 0 – 1 = 3? Why 3?
ClearNotes could be lru_0 = 0?

And where is the difference between lru_[] and pool_[]?

You’re looking at a rather difficult chunk of code!

pool_ stores the state of each voice. lru_ is used to figure out the “age” of each voice - the lower the number, the most recent the voice has been used, the less desirable it is to steal it.