Dumb question for the hardware hackers

I’m a pretty good programmer, but totally new to electronics and microcontroller-based hardware design. I’ve been looking into a good platform to help me get started with a simple hardware-based MIDI sequencer, but I’d like to hear the opinion of more experienced people such as you.

Assuming something like 24 switches, same number of (bi-color) LEDs, 1 or 5 clickable encoders, a 2x16 LCD display, and MIDI in and out, what would you recommend taking a look at?

IF you only have one hour, look onto the PicAxe Series of Chips, if you have more time and want to do more complex things go Ardiuno

really depends what you’re after.
arduino is an easy stard, no soldering what so ever, but much more expensive than using an avr controller on perfboard (arduiono 20$ ?, perfboard 4$).
I think you won’t learn as much with an arduino compared to using the avr directly. (correct me if i’m wrong)
but the start is easier
Never worked with arduino or picaxe… I started with PIC (doesn’t like them so much, but thats more a question of taste)
then moved on pretty quick to atmels AVR series.

concerning bang for the bucks the new 32 bit platforms are great, but since they are quite new theres not sooo much info on the web explaining everything, so i’d stay away from them for the beginning untill you are confortable using registers and setting up peripherals.

so my recommendation would be avr. free toolchain (uses GCC) and loads of ressources on the web.

comboy

I’d go for arduino… I’m in the process of designing a midi controller on the arduino. I don’t have any experience in programming but i could get something working with midi out in few hours by modifying some examples. On the internet are a lot of things already out there you can use as a starting point. And if you outgrow the MCU you can easily port your project to something bigger.

@fcd72 More complex as in the code that’s running, or in the hardware you can hook up to it?