DIY step sequencer

Hi,
does anyone know if there is something like a diy step sequencer? Is there anybody who can recommend one? Has Mutable Instruments ever thought about building one?
Thank you, Freddy

It’s only conjectures, but I believe that Olivier is currently working on an original sequencer… but it won’t be released as a kit.
There are plenty of products for diy analog step sequencers, from very simple ones using 4017s to more complex and cool things as the klee sequencer. I think there are some kits for midi step sequencers as well.
First, do you need an analog or a midi step sequencer?

MFOS 10 and 16 Steps
Fonik VCPS
Fonik Baby10
hexinverter Symple Seq
Klee

I’d need a MIDI one, but perhaps analog options would be cool aswell for synths I’ll maybe buy eventually.
Well, I’m no expert, but I always thought that 666€ for a Doepfer MAQ16/3 and even more for a analogue solutions oberkorn is … ehm not cheap for a product that seems to be so simple (???) in my eyes and maybe there’s the possibility of getting a cheaper diy sequencer somewhere.

Thank you!

MIDIbox MBseq v4.

maybe have a look at the gorf then (Paul Maddox)

yeah i thought the V4 would be to costly then too, but the SeqV4 Light certainly isn’t

What do you guys call a step sequencer actually?

I’ve seen this term mean so many different things:

• To some people it means something that sequences controllers/CVs, rather than something focused on notes + durations unlike a MIDI piano roll.
  • To some people it refers to something that is fundamentally based on a grid, with stuff (gates / values) assigned to each cell of the grid…
  • To some people it refers to a type of user interface in which we have 1/ potentiometer per value.

To some people it’s some specific combination of these. Personally I’ve always thought that step sequencer was 2, but it’s an interesting discussion…