Digital Filter Module

I hope this is the right forum to ask. :slight_smile:

There are a ton of digital oscillators all sounding great and having many more possibilities than it’s analog counterparts.

But why aren’t there many digital filters? Be it Shruthi, Ambika, Prophet 12 or Peak. They all use digital OSC, but analog filters for making the synth sounding more analog/fatter, etc.

Is it so hard to emulate filters digital? Why just oscillators, but not filters?

Isn’t there a big possibility for a Braids/Plaits type of module with many different filter types via 3 knobs (multi-filter, ladder, morphing, etc.)

I know… Not everything needs to be cloned digitally, but I would love to see a module with many different filter flavours.

Actually, there was a digital filter option for the Shruthi.

Im no coder, but im sure I read that good filters are one of the more difficult things to do well in software… But there are cleverer folk than me around here that could tell you more about that.

I think it might have quite a bit to do with cost and complexity. A stand-alone digital filter module needs to be able to acquire analogue audio signals and convert them to digital form with high fidelity - so that means at least 48Khz sample rate and at least 16 bits, but probably more using an audio codec - and then apply fairly heavy computation to it - so that means a fast MPU with DSP or at least floating point operations done in hardware - such MPUs are now available at reasonable cost - and then the DC-coupled control voltages need to be acquired and converted to digital form at audio sampling rates too, to allow FM etc, but in DC-coupled form. And then you need at least 48kHz and at least 16 bit of DAC output conversion.