Did i mess up my plaits when updating firmware?

Hi, I’ve been using my plaits for about 2 years. I tried updating with the recent alternative firmware. When doing so, I plugged in from one laptop and kept getting the red flashing lights indicating it wasn’t working. So I tried downloading to a different laptop and it looked like it was working. I plugged a patch cable into my laptop output, then played the sound file using VLC. And plaits seemed to like it. 2 green LEDS lit. Immediately after it finished, VLC looped the sound file and started again. I hit stop a few seconds later. I shut down then turned my rack back on. I know updating firmware causes you to lose old settings. I noticed my plaits sounded less responsive and maybe more 8bit sounding? So I decided to reflash the 1.1 firmware. However, doing so (successfuly), it still seems like my Plaits is less responsive, more 8bit, not beautiful tones. I’ve uploaded a video. Any feedback on what to do next?

video

Hi - I’m guessing this was my alt firmware? Sorry to hear this - I can try to see if I can reproduce. Can you let me know which variant of the alt firmware you were trying - the aux crossfade or the octave switching? The video - is that from when you were running the 1.1 firmware or the alt firmware?

Hello, yes, I added the octave switching, noticed the issue, then tried reinstalling the original 1.1 firmware but didn’t detect a difference. The video is from after i reinstalled 1.1
edit: it seems like some modes work fine and others do not?

I don’t see any problem in your video.

A failed firmware will cause the module to not power on.

It is extremely unlikely (as in, being struck by lightning and bitten by a shark at the same time), that random data corruption would cause a module to operate normally but more 8-bit sounding, and less responsive. It’s not like the firmware contains bits of code that make it perform poorly and that can be activated by just the flip of a bit!

2 Likes