Customizing the Yarns firmware

I’ve had some ideas for alternate Yarns layouts (2x monophonic voices with velocity, and 6x controllers plus clock) and started digging into the code base.

I have some C++ experience from doing stuff in openFrameworks, but looking at unfamiliar code I still wonder if I’m hitting all the connection points I need to when making a new layout.

Does anyone have a stab at an alt Yarns firmware out there I could compare against? I could also post my diff and get thoughts… Do I really have to worry about bricking this thing via an update over the midi input?

Post your code to GitHub and point to it there. Start with a fork of Olivier’s repository so it is easy to see what you have changed. Then clone your fork to your deskktop or laptop, make your changes, and then push them back to your origin, which is your forked repository on GitHub. Use the GitHub client, it makes it easy.

If your compiled code is too large or otherwise overwrites the settings storage area, then yes, you could brick your Yarns via the audio interface. You would then need to recover it via the JTAG/SWD programming port on it (unlike other MI modules, it doesn’t have an FTDI serial port, so you can’t use the built-in serial bootloader in the STM32F1 chip on a Yarns).

Looks like I should grab the JTAG connectors then so I can un-brick if I screw it up. And if it simplifies deploying code to the module all the better.

I forked his repo and have a branch for my first idea (2x mono with velocity). If it works on the unit, I’ll make a little “Yarns alt-firmware” project page and post it.

I still feel like I don’t fully have a handle on the architecture or limitations, but i should get there if I keep digging around in the Yarns code base.