Critique my first try at a "complete" MI skiff

Hey all!

Besides a short dalliance with a DFAM and a Strega, I am new to Eurorack and looking to build a MI skiff. And, as you’ve probably gathered, I’d like your help.

Here’s a bunch of information about the different goals and needs I’m attempting to balance out. Hope you have a cup of coffee handy, I’ve been thinking about this all for quite some time and I write technical content for a living!

Since people tend to ask, I’d like to make the following kinds of music/sound:

• Experimental/generative noise/ambient

• Harmonically rich, shifting drones (with the odd exterior sound)

• Beat-driven electronic music (will supplement the rack with a VC/OCD, which will allow me to use my digitatkt to sequence rack-based voices and supply beats)

Here are my more “philosophical” goals for the system. I’d like it to be:

• Coherent – This is why I am going all-in on Mutable stuff. The modules seem to share a multi-valent philosophy, which leads me to believe that they would make a philosophicall . As an aside, they also speak to a deep part of my psyche. (I wrote a master’s on noise and experimental music, but that’s a topic for another day!)

• Simple – I know I need to start learning from scratch, so I’d like to have a system that offers a top-level of simple functionality, as well as little “islands” of modules that I can use to learn Eurorack and deepen my understanding of the concepts. EG: Marbles + Plaits + Stages + Rings to sequence, synthesize, modulate, and process a single voice.

• Complete(ish) – I’d like a system that will also offer a lot of depth, so I can start with small islands, but then grow into the possibilities over time—knowing that other possibilities are there, and won’t require MORE purchases.